Image Image Image Image Image



Raj & the Queen is a musical band native from Reunion Island, a land of unification of people, created in 2017.

The origin of the band's name comes from an unexpected meeting with the Gypsy people in Pushkar; a small town in northwestern India in the desert region of Rajasthan.

Raj is the name of a man living with his family in one of the Gypsy camps, a few kilometers away from Pushkar. To live, he divides his time between hunting in the desert by day and playing traditional night music in well-to-do hotels in Pushkar.

Raj and some of his brothers aspire to find a nomadic life like that of their ancestors, to revive the legends of their people, to go back on the road to ideal but ephemeral land of welcome. This nourishing and charged land of positive energies called "the Queen".

The Indian government imposes the sedentarization of the Gypsy people and lets them glimpse the many appanages of a sedentary life, Raj and his brothers wish instead to keep their most valuable property in their eyes: their integrity and their freedom.

The commitment of this people to lead a dissident and free life was one of the source of inspiration for the band called : "Raj and the Queen".

Broaden horizons, push boundaries, multiply experiences and accept the fact that meetings are never mere coincidences, ... Raj and the Queen explores through its musical creations the borders of Europe, the Asia, our Earth and even those potentially habitable exoplanets...

Legends set to music (Shangri-La) contiguous to commemorations of real characters (Mata Hari ); fictitious space exploration stories (Journey through a Black Hole) told in the same way as an aquatic flirt with a mermaid in an emerald-colored lagoon (Mermaid love in blue lagoon ) ... Pushing the limits of the imaginary through muscial and visual creations is the band's credo.

On stage, the band sketches a wavy line unfavorable to the stylistic routine, a nod to nuanced musical references (Radio tarifa, The do, Anakronic Elektro Orkestra, ...).

The band will try to share this nomadic energy :
- Oliv Vict (voice, guitare, machines, compositions)
- Luc Joly (flute, saxophone)
- Gérome Geney (drums)
- Léo Lataste (son)

Special thanks to our special guests ! Mano Nicolas (guitar), Manu Nicolas (flute), Pantera (action on stage), Jaja (camera, beers, ...).
Koté Live! bringing up the administrative support to the project ! And although AF Photo Réunion for their awesome pictures ;-)

Website and content © Raj and the Queen 2020 | All Rights Reserved |

Image Image Image Image Image



Raj & the Queen est un groupe natif de l'île de la Réunion, une terre d'unification des peuples, créé en 2017.

L'origine du nom du groupe provient d'une rencontre inattendue avec le peuple Gypsy lors d'un voyage à Pushkar; une petite ville du nord-ouest de l'Inde dans la région désertique du Rajasthan.

Raj est le nom d'un homme habitant avec sa famille dans un des campements Gypsy, quelques kilomètres en marge de Pushkar. Pour vivre, il partage son temps entre chasser dans le désert la journée et jouer de la musique folklorique la nuit dans des hôtels de Pushkar.

Raj ainsi que certains de ses frêres aspirent à retrouver une vie nomade comme celle de leurs ancêtres, à faire revivre les légendes de leur peuple, à repartir sur la route vers des terres d'accueil idéales mais éphémères. Cette terre nouricière et chargée d'énergies positives appelée "the Queen".

Le gouvernement indien impose la sédentarisation du peuple Gypsy, leur laissant miroiter les multiples apanages d'une vie sédentarisée. Raj et ses frêres souhaitent au contraire garder leur bien le plus précieux à leurs yeux : leur intégrité et leur liberté.

L'engagement de ce peuple à mener une vie dissidente et libre a été une source d'inspiration pour le groupe naissant : Raj and the Queen.

Elargir les horizons, s'indigner, repousser les limites géographiques, démultiplier les expériences et accepter le fait que les rencontres ne sont jamais de simples coïncidences,... Raj and the Queen explore par ses créations musicales les confins de l'Europe, de l'Asie, de notre Terre et et des exoplanètes potentiellement habitables... Avec des rencontres inattendues peuplant ses contrées.

Légendes mises en musique (Shangri-La) accolées à des commémorations de personnages réels (Mata Hari); récits fictifs d'exploration spatiale (Journey through a black hole) contés au même titre qu'un flirt aquatique avec une sirène dans un lagon couleur émeraude (Mermaid love in blue lagoon)... Repousser les limites de l'imaginaire par des créations musciales et visuelles est le credo du groupe.

Sur scène se dessine une ligne ondulée peu propice à la routine stylistique, clin d’œil à des références musicales nuancées (Radio tarifa, The do, Pink Floyd, D'Gari...).

Le groupe vous fera partager son univers avec ses énergies empreinte de nomadisme et de rencontres :
- Oliv Vict (chant, guitare, synthé, compositions)
- Luc Joly (flûte, saxophones soprano et ténor)
- Gérome Geney (batterie)
- Léo Lataste (son)

Et un grand merci à nos chers guests : Mano Nicolas (guitare), Manu Nicolas (flûte), Pantera (action on stage), Jaja (caméra, bières, etc.) ... et Koté Live! pour son soutien administratif ! Et surtout AF Photo Réunion pour les clichés ;-)

Website and content © Raj and the Queen 2020 & AF photo Reunion | All Rights Reserved |